It is currently Sat May 04, 2024 6:17 am
Change font size

Nutrition

Begginers Nutrition guide help

Syssitia : The communal & military mess of adult Spartan warriors

Moderator: Moderators

Begginers Nutrition guide help

Postby Bushi » Wed Aug 03, 2011 9:20 am

Gents, newbie here looking for some advice to get back to being fit and healthy,

I used to go to the gym 3 times a week, was keen on what i ate but i never got it right, probably the reason i gave up bodybuilding as i wasnt getting the gains i wanted

but i always try to keep the fatty stuff out of my diet even now, i used to be 14stone 5ft 8 quite muscular now im 12 stone :neutral:

but i do go to kick boxing for a 2 hour session a week to keep fit and trim

now i want to go back to having quite a muscular frame hence why i joined here for some advice,

i have my own gym at home, free weight bench, multi gym, dumbells

its my diet im mostly concerned about :roll:

trouble being mostly, i work shifts days nights, morning, eve and week off,

i live alone so no woman to help with any cooking or shopping list,

so does anyone have a simple nutrition plan i can start off with, nothing too complicated

any help would be greatly appreceated thanks
Bushi
Helot
Helot

Re: Begginers Nutrition guide help

Postby Cookie » Wed Aug 03, 2011 2:13 pm

Welcome to the forum Bushi & thanks for joining.

Basics would be plenty of fresh fruit & vegetables, a variety of protein from fish, poultry, red meats & eggs. Carbohydrates from whole grains, fruits vegetables, whole wheat pasta's, rice. fats from oily fish, lean meats, butter, olive oil, coconut oil.

You want to be slowly working out processed man made products in favour of home made as near to natural food sources as possible.

Drink plenty of water.

Working shifts is very hard. I would suggest meals for work based around things that don't require reheating & if possible that can be stored in a fridge or cool bag till your due to eat.